Cinema Stars in Politics

Indian National Congress (Congress-I)

Congress party and Weavers community were very much tied together in Mangalagiri. Master weavers use to lead the congress party here. The old generation people were much influenced by Sri Pragada Kotaiah, a senior Handloom leader. Sri Damarla Rama Kantha Rao became MLC from this party. In 1962 and 1967, people of this party were elected as MLAs. The party could not succeed in four elections. After that, in 1989, 1999, and 2004, they were again elected. For municipality - in 1971, 1987, 2000, and again in 2005, the candidates of this party were elected as Chair-persons. In 1987, candidate of this party was elected as Vice-Chair person. Sri Katabattula Srirama Chandra Murthy and Sri Sunkara Raghupathi Rao are the Presidents of Town and Mandal Committees respectively.

Communist Party of India (CPI)

In 1942, Sri Nuthakki Venkata Ranga Rao and others started Communist party in Mangalagiri. In 1952, Sri Darsi Lakshmaih contested from Mangalagiri in the assembly elections and won. In 1962 and 1972, Sri Vemulapalli Srikrishna became MLA from this place. Sri Bitra Lakshmi Narayana and Sri Raghavarapu Koteswara Rao were the Presidents of Mangalagiri Panchayat. For Mangalagiri Municipality, in 1981, Sri Sukhamanchi Venkata Koteswara Rao became Chairman. In 1971 - Sri Shaik Ahmad Ali, 1995 - Sri Chinni Pichchayya, 1998 - Sri Kota Srirammurthy, 2000 - Sri Ande Narasimha Rao, and in 2005 - Sri Munagala Malleswara Rao became Vice-Chairmen of the Municipality. The present Town Committee Secretary is Sri Munagala Malleswararao and Area Committee Secretary is Sri Ravuri Sivareddy.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM)

In 1969, Communist party had been split into CPM and CPI. At that time, Sri Simhadri Siva Reddy was the prominent leader of this party. When there was drought, this party distributed rice at the rate of one rupee per Kilo. In 1994, Sri Nimmagadda Ramamohana Rao became MLA from CPM. The present Secretary of the Town committee is Sri J.V.Raghavulu and Sri Etukuri Gangadhara Rao is the Mandal Secretary and Sri Bhimireddy Sambi Reddy is the Division Committee of the party.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

In 1982, when Telugu Desam Party was established, many people shifted to this party from other parties. Initially, Sri Goli Gopala Rao along with others nurtured this party. In 1983, Dr.M.S.S.Koteswara Rao became MLA from this party and TDP became strong. Again in 1985, he was elected as MLA second time and became Health Minister. In 1995, Sri Goli Veeranjaneyulu became Municipal Chairman from this party. Inspite of the party's strength, it did not contest in 1989, 1994, 1999, and 2004 Assembly elections in the process of alliance with other parties. Mangalagiri constituency Conveyor of this party is Sri Madhala Rajendra, Town President is Sri Nandam Abadhaiah and Mandal President is Sri Valluri suribabu.

Bharatiya Janatha Party (BJP)

In 1962, Janasangh party contested here in Assembly election. BJP formed out of Janata Party's split. Sri Thammisetty Ramakrishna and others had developed the party here. In 1999 and 2004, this party contested here in assembly elections in alliance with TDP, but could not succeed. Present Town committee President is Sri Venkateswara Rao.

Feedback     Acknowledgements     About Us